Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

AIDS-Related CancersAIDS-Related Cancers

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HPV disease diagnosed Today - given the worst case scenario
Mar 30, 2003

Hello,

I'm a current graduate student at Harvard, and I was diagnosed today with HPV. I noticed perianal warts three weeks ago and made an appointment immediately. I met with anal surgeon today. He painted the region with acid, told me that aside from the three warts I had externally, there were some within as well, and then broke it down in what he called "the worst case scenario"...

He said that surgery would be my best option, with some warts being removed physically, and others being CO2 lasered. That there would be a biopsy done on some of the tissue to see if I had a strain of HPV that leads to anal cancer. And that I was going to be in a LOT of pain for about a week after the procedure.

I notice that you work in Beth Israel, which is where I was told to make an appointment. I guess my question is how worried I should be. It sounded to me like I was well on the road to anal cancer, although reading up on the web for the past two hours since I returned from diagnosis, it seems that the cancerous strains of HPV are less likely to exhibit warts...? I guess I am looking for some hope here. I am a gay male, 26, HIV negative.

I'm also really worried about this week of intense pain... And I don't even have a bath in my home, which I hear I have to take to make sure the area is clean...

Thanks for your help, J

Response from Dr. Dezube

Dear J: This is indeed a lot of news you received over a very short period of time. You raise many interesting points, which I will go over one by one