Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

AIDS-Related CancersAIDS-Related Cancers

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Hemorrhoids and Pap smears- Post from 12/29-Correction?
Jan 12, 2003

Dear Dr. Bruce,

IN your response of 12/29/02 regarding anal pap smears, hemorrhoids and HPV, you said if you it is more likely one is HPV infected if the Pap smear is normal. I'm not a doctor but I always thought it was the other way around. That is, you are more likely to be HPV infected if the Pap smear is abnormal. Was this a typo? Thanks for all the hard work you do for all.

Response from Dr. Dezube

Thank you so much for your careful reading of my posts (you have a job waiting for you in some editorial department). You are correct in that there was a typo. It is more likely to be HPV infected if the Pap smear is ABnormal. I am repeating the edited 12/29 post in this response. (I also fixed the typo). Here it is.

The reader had asked some excellent questions about Pap smears and hemorroids--

1) Do hemorrhoids interfere with the Anal Pap test-- probably not. However, if the hemorrhoids are inflammed, then inflammation can indeed affect the Pap test. Although hemorrhoids will not cause a PAP test to read cancer, it may prevent a Pap smear from being read as completely normal. When I have a patient with inflammed hemorrhoids, I tend not to perform a Pap test until the inflammation subsides.