Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Aging With HIVAging With HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Working Out With HIV/AIDS and trying to focus on living life
Feb 6, 2014

Hi, I was wondering about working out with HIV. I've been pos since probably late 90's and a history of crypto meningitis in 2005. I am also a MC veteran so I have received a lot of counseling. When I was admitted in the hospital my cd4 was 102 and my viral load was 750,000. I was pretty close to the other side from what they told my family. I was also about 165 pounds down from my normal 210. Since then I have begun to focus on my cognitive skills, writing and staying busy. A couple years ago my blood work came back fine but my BP was high as well as my Tri's. So, I started working out on the suggestion of my docs. After a while it became somewhat addictive and I regained my weight and strength. I am up to about 4 miles a day on the treadmill and using weights but going easy as far as they go. I'm 50 but people at the gym say I am in great shape especially for my age. I did stay pretty active throughout my life and surfed a lot when I was younger. My last check on my BP was 117/78 and dropped dramatically.