Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Aging With HIVAging With HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Old and no fight
Jul 30, 2012

I wonder about your response to the man who is 48 and living just for the disability check. I have been + for 18 years and been on disability and have been seeing a shrink for the same time period. I am a physician. There is nothing that seems to work to make one feel better when your entire identity is taken away by a disease like HIV. Therapy and meds have been useless. I spend most days in bed and have become 50 pounds overweight. I see little reason to go out due to my weight and even if I lose weight, I am poison to other gay people I meet. It sounds like there are lots of solutions to try but nothing has worked for me. I just take my meds, sleep and wait to die.

Response from Mr. Vergel

I am so sorry that you are feeling that horrible. I have gone through what you are going through for a few weeks but have been able to find a way out of that mental jail that some of us put ourselves in.

You obviously do not want to die. If you did, you would not have reached out for help here. You want to feel better and be your old self again. Hopelessness is rampant in our community and it takes an extra effort (and some coaching) to help people start enjoying life again. Hopefully I can do that for you.

Like you, my ego and self worth were attached to my career as an engineer. I went on disability since I thought I was going to die and wanted to take care of myself and do something important in the world to at least leave something behind. And like you, I have survived.